Chickpea Lemon Poppyseed Cake


A colleague asked if I’d ever made chickpea lemon cake. I thought it sounded like a good idea and started hunting the web for recipes. I decided to adapt this recipe. It looked relatively simple and adaptable.

20120419-222559.jpg

Happy Birthday

Modifications:

  • replace sugar with about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of agave nectar or honey
  • Add some besan flour (chickpea flour) or other gluten-free flour to redress the extra liquid sweetener
  • Add 1 tblsp of poppyseeds
  • I replaced one of the lemons with a lime

I couldn’t find the base for my small cake tin, so had to use a larger one, so it turned out more like a slice than cake. Because it was not so deep I took it out of the oven after 25 minutes. It would make nice cupcakes too.

For a topping I mixed a tablespoon of honey into Greek yoghurt.

