Chickpea chocolate cake


I have made this recipe a few times now – so it must be good. Makes a good birthday cake, or cupcakes. It is an easy cake to make and almost always comes out of the oven with a great texture. I find it much more reliable than the creamed sugar and butter cakes – and of course it is much better for us.

The original recipe I found on 52 Kitchen Adventures but I have made a few variations of it.

I replaced the orange juice with beetroot & apple juice because that was what I had to hand. Another time I replaced the juice with pureed no-added-sugar applesauce which gave it a softer texture – a little bit too soft, but a lovely flavour. I also used mixed nuts, or any other single type of nut that is in the pantry. Macadamias would be really good.

On occasions I have also replaced the chickpeas with various white beans (Cannellini, Great Northern Beans).

Another variation, I replaced the agave syrup with a mixture of honey and stevia, and in many recipes I replace one or two of the eggs with a tablespoon of chia seeds soaked in 3 tablespoons of water.

Rather than the cherry sauce, I topped this cake with dark chocolate ganache to make a lovely gluten free birthday cake. Versatile, delicious – no-one will guess it has chickpeas in it. Although without the cocoa the bean/chickpea flavour may be stronger to the palate, so it may be more difficult to adapt for vanilla cakes or other flavours. I can’t find a good photograph of this, but might add one next time I make this.

